Diets and dietary restrictions

DIET CHOICE FOR A WEEK

The diet I always wanted to try once in life was a vegan diet, which I experimented doing for the first time in my life for a week.

A vegan diet is basically a diet in which, all animal products including dairy are restricted and only plant-based foods can be consumed.

Image result for vegan

A seven-day menu that I planned for my experimental diet was as follows:

Day1. BREAKFAST: 1Apple, 1 banana, Potato paratha( Whole wheat flatbread stuffed with potato mixture with mango pickle. LUNCH: Quinoa pasta with tomato basil sauce. DINNER: Roti( whole wheat flatbread), lentil curry(dal).

Day2. BREAKFAST: 1 Pear, Onion stuffed paratha (whole wheat flatbread stuffed with caramelized onion). LUNCH: Lentil and kidney bean veg patty with eggless bread. DINNER: Spinach, arugula, and kale salad with watermelon cubes.

Day3. BREAKFAST: 500g strawberries, oats with curry spice and vegetables. LUNCH: Lentil fritters with salsa. DINNER: Brown rice with cauliflower potato curry.

Day4. BREAKFAST: Oats cooked in water with fresh berries. LUNCH: at Harvest kitchen, Spadina( promotes veganism),  arugula kale spinach salad, french fries, and vegan garlic aioli. DINNER: Thai green curry with brown rice.

Day5. BREAKFAST: 1 banana, almonds, dairyless bread toasted with applied margarine. LUNCH: 2 Roti with spinach and lentil curry. DINNER: Tomato and mushroom soup.

Day 6. BREAKFAST: 1apple, 1orange, Sprouts with cucumber and tomato. LUNCH: Ratatouille. DINNER: Roti with lentil curry (dal).

Day 7. BREAKFAST: Hashbrown potatoes with vermicelli with vegetables and curry spice. LUNCH: Vegan bread with mashed potatoes, sauteed broccoli. DINNER: Red rice with black bean stir-fried vegetables.

RECIPE THAT I CREATED DURING MY VEGAN DIET:

MIX VEGETABLE CURRY IN A DIFFERENT WAY:

1/2 cup pigeon peas, 100g small aubergine, 150g baby potato, 100g sweet potatoes, 100g unripe banana, 150g purple yam.

Ingredients for gravy: 1/2 cup grated coconut, 2 tsp sesame seeds, 1 tsp chilly powder, 1 tsp turmeric powder, 1 cumin seeds, 1 coriander powder, chopped coriander 1 bunch.

Method:

Cook all the ingredients for gravy in coconut oil and make it a paste out of it. Take a pan, cook the paste, then add all the ingredients except potatoes and sweet potatoes, and cook it in the paste. Boil the potatoes separately and add it to the gravy. Finish it off with freshly grated coconut and chopped coriander leaves.

I assumed that I have allergy with soy and I omitted soy products from the daily menu of my weekly experimental diet.

My experience with this diet was kind of weird, as I have survived without meat earlier also, but I never imagined my life without dairy products, I always used to think that without milk, eggs, cheese, butter, ghee, what will be the fun of having food. But sometimes for intoxication, this type is a good diet. I would not prefer this type of diet for the rest of my life as there will be a lot of deficiencies like iron, B12 etc.

As a chef, I would recommend people following a vegan diet, that don’t be confused in terms of deciding what to eat in meals, as if they explore the cuisines from India or vegan diets on the internet, they would many amazing tasty recipes that do not even need any dairy product or meat product. I would love to find recipes for people who go through my blog and ask for it on my mail.

I personally do not want to continue with this diet, but for weight loss or intoxication, this diet will be really good for people.

Thank you

I hope you enjoyed reading my blog!

 

 

 

Leave a comment